AAHCI Leadership Councils aim to advance thought leadership, foster sharing of best practices, and catalyze the diffusion of innovation.

Convened in 2023, the AAHCI Leadership Council on Communicating Science to Patients, Professionals, and the Public will focus on concerns at the level of the most senior leaders of academic health centers, such as delineating the leadership role of the academic health center in communicating science, determining what questions a top leader should ask their direct reports to know that their institution is working as effectively as possible on science communication, and tracking progress to be sure their institution is communicating science effectively to improve the health of all.

The members of the Council will meet via various forums throughout the year to examine science communication at AHCs and to develop resources that may include:

  • An inventory of innovative approaches to communicating science;
  • Interactive and engaging sessions for members at selected AAHCI meetings and at the Alliance of Academic Health Centers Annual Meeting;
  • A curated and annotated collection of relevant key readings; and
  • Other materials as deemed important by the Council.

Council Members

Frank Rühli, MD, PhD (Chair)
Dean, Faculty of Medicine
University of Zurich Medical School

Alawi Alsheikh-Ali, MD
Dean for College of Medicine
Mohammed Bin Rashid University of Medicine
and Health Sciences

Richard Barohn, MD, FAAN
Executive Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
University of Missouri-Columbia

Nicole Bender, MD, PhD
Head Clinical Evolutionary Medicine Group
University of Zurich

Keith Channon, FMedSci, FRCP
Oxford Academic Health Partners

Adil Haider, MBBS, MPH, FACS
Aga Khan University Medical College, Pakistan

Rümeyza Kazancıoğlu, MD
Bezmialem Vakif University

Jenny Luray
Vice President, Strategy and Communications
Research America

Yodi Mahendradhata
Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Public Health and Nursing
Universitas Gadjah Mada

Ross McKinney, MD
Chief Scientific Officer

Damalie Nakanjako, MBCHB
Principal, School of Medicine
Makerere University School of Medicine

Martin Paul, MD, PhD
Ruhr University Bochum

Massimo Pignatelli, MD, PhD
Vice-President for Medicine
Nazarbayev University

John Raymond, MD
President and CEO
Medical College of Wisconsin

Luciano Saso, PhD
Vice-Rector for European University Networks
Sapienza University of Rome

Ex Officio:
Steven Kanter, MD
Executive Director, AAHCI

Lauren Maggio, PhD
Programs Scholar, AAHCI