Cybersecurity at Academic Health Centers


AAHC President’s Councils aim to advance thought leadership, foster sharing of best practices, and catalyze the diffusion of innovation.

Because cybersecurity plays a significant role across the spectrum of long-term strategic considerations, management, and day-to-day operations of academic health centers, AAHC and its members must be at the forefront of knowledge and practice in cybersecurity.

The AAHC President’s Council on Cybersecurity was formed in early 2019 as part of a new AAHC initiative that brings together members and thought leaders with expertise in cybersecurity challenges. The members of the Council met via various forums throughout 2019 and developed a set of resources, including Cybersecurity at Academic Health Centers: Key Considerations for CEOs and C-Suite Leaders.


Cybersecurity at Academic Health Centers: Key Considerations for CEOs and C-Suite Leaders underscores the need for academic health center preparedness in an era of increasing breaches and cyberattacks. This vital resource enables top leaders to focus on: Readiness of an institution to deal with cyberthreats; the Response leaders can take in the event of an attack; and approaches to a robust Recovery. Members of AAHC/I can also access the resource by logging in.

Council Members

Robert A. Barish, MD, MBA, Chair
Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
University of Illinois at Chicago

Wilsie Bishop, DPA, MSN
EVice President for Health Affairs
East Tennessee State University
Academic Health Sciences Center

Michael Cain, MD
Vice President for Health Sciences
Dean, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

University of Buffalo

Terri C. Carrothers
Executive Vice Chancellor Administration and Finance, CFO
University of Colorado Denver | Anschutz Medical Campus

Dean (Interim)
The Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry
Western University

Michael P. Diamond, MD
Associate Dean for Research, Medical College of Georgia
Senior Vice President for Research

Augusta University

Danny Jacobs, MD, MPH, FACS
Oregon Health and Science University

Adeeba Kamarulzaman, MBBS, FRACP, FASc
Dean of the Faculty of Medicine
University of Malaya

Timothy Rapp, MS
Vice President for Information and Education Technology
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Paul Stewart, MD
Executive Dean
University of Leeds

Richard W. Thomas, MD, DDS
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Walter Tinling, MPH
Vice President for Finance and Administration
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences

Steven L. Kanter, MD EX OFFICIO
President, CEO

Lauren Maggio, PhD EX OFFICIO
Programs Scholar