AAHC Sullivan Alliance

  • HOME
Steven Kantor and Dr.SullivanDr. Steven L. Kanter and Dr. Louis W. Sullivan: January 2020

The AAHC Sullivan Alliance aims to strengthen the capacity and quality of the nation’s health workforce by increasing the numbers of ethnic and racial minorities in every area of healthcare and across all aspects of academic health centers.

Objectives of the AAHC Sullivan Alliance

  • An annual Sullivan Lecture to be held at the AAHC Annual Meeting
  • Engagement with other associations around diversity, equity, and inclusion in the health professions, health sciences, and healthcare
  • Meetings (or tracks in existing meetings) to bring together leaders of pipeline programs across the health professions and encourage the development of new pipeline programs
  • New ideas around diversity, equity, and inclusion by bringing together thought leaders in these areas with top leaders of academic health centers

Under the leadership of Louis W. Sullivan, MD, former U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services, The Sullivan Alliance to Transform the Health Professions was originally organized in January 2005 to act on the reports and recommendations of the Sullivan Commission and the Institute of Medicine Committee on Institutional and Policy-Level Strategies for Increasing the Diversity of the U.S. Healthcare Workforce.

The Sullivan Alliance was formally passed on to become a central program of AAHC in January 2020.

Visit the Sullivan Alliance Legacy Site

Information will be posted soon on members of the AAHC Sullivan Alliance Advisory Committee.