AAHC Board of Directors & AAHCI Steering Committee

AAHC Annual Meeting

The AAHC Board of Directors, including chair, chair-elect, and immediate past chair, is elected for staggered terms by the academic health center leaders of member institutions with the exception of the position held on the Board by the Chair of the AAHCI International Steering Committee.

The role of the Board is to provide oversight and guidance on all matters concerning AAHC, including strategic plans, finances, and programs.

The AAHCI Steering Committee consists of elected representatives of AAHCI members from various countries and regions. The primary function of the Steering Committee is to guide the development and expansion of AAHCI, review the governance and membership structure, and to recommend new programs and initiatives. The chair of the AAHCI Steering Committee is appointed to the AAHC Board of Directors as a full voting member.

AAHC Board of Directors

Robert A. Barish, MD, MBA
Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
University of Illinois at Chicago
University of Illinois Hospital & Health Sciences System

Michael L. Good, MD
Chair Elect
CEO, University of Utah Health,
Senior Vice President for Health Sciences,
Dean, University of Utah School of Medicine,
University of Utah Health Sciences Center

Robert N. Golden, MD
Immediate Past Chair
Dean, UW School of Medicine and Public Health,
Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs,
University of Wisconsin – Madison

Carrie Byington, MD
Executive Vice President UC Health
University of California

Deborah German, MD
Vice President for Health Affairs and
Dean, UCF College of Medicine,
University of Central Florida

David Perlmutter, MD
Executive Vice Chancellor
Dean, School of Medicine,
Washington University

Massimo Pignatelli, MD, PhD
Vice-President for Medicine
Dean, School of Medicine
Nazarbayev University

AAHCI Steering Committee*

Massimo Pignatelli, MD, PhD
Committee Chair
Vice-President for Medicine
Dean, School of Medicine
Nazarbayev University

Mohamed Sayegh, MD, FAHA, FASN, FRCP
Past Chair
Professor of Medicine and Immunology
American University of Beirut Medical Center
Senior Advisor on Research in the Middle East
and North Africa, National Institutes of Health
Senior Lecturer, Harvard Medical School

Maria Cristina Pereira Lima, MD, PhD
Dean, and Associate Professor
Faculdade de Medicina de Botucatu
Universidade Estadual Paulista (UNESP)

William Macharia, MD, MSc
Associate Dean, Research, Faculty of Health Sciences,
The Aga Khan University - East Africa

Gustavo Quintero Hernandez, MD
Dean, School of Medicine and Health Sciences
Universidad del Rosario

Luciano Saso, PhD
Vice-Rector for European University Networks, Faculty of Pharmacy and Medicine
Sapienza University of Rome

John Yoo, MD, FRCS(C), FACS
Dean, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry
Western University

*Regional Office Ambassadors serve as ex-officio members of the Steering Committee